The Hours of the Day

Lankhmar's day is 24 hours long, broken up by the rising and setting sun. Most people break up the day into large slices or watches of about three hours each - dawn, morning, noon, afternoon, sundown, evening, midnight, and night's end.

In the city, temple bells toll to mark the hours, and each hour is a "bell" - counting from the hour after midnight or noon and numbering 1-12. Noon and midnight are both referred to as "12 bells."

The Seasons of the Year

The Calendar of Harptos defines a 365-day year divided into 12 months of 30 days - or 3 tendays - each. Five special days fall between the months, and every four years a leap day, Shieldmeet, is added to the calendar immediately following Midsummer night.

A tenday is commonly called a ride, and consists of ten days. The days do not have names, but are instead referred to by number: first-day, second-day, and so on.

The months and holidays are listed below; the days of the solstices and equinoxes are:

  • Winter Solstice: Nightal 20
  • Spring Equinox: Ches 19
  • Summer Solstice: Kythorn 20
  • Autumn Equinox: Eleint 21

The Calendar of Harptos

Month Name Common Name
 1 Hammer Deepwinter
 Midwinter Holiday
 2 Alturiak The Claw of Winter
 3 Ches The Claw of the Sunsets
 4 Tarsakh The Claw of the Storms
 Greengrass Holiday
 5 Mirtul The Melting
 6 Kythorn The Time of Flowers
 7 Flamerule Summertide
 Midsummer Holiday
 8 Eleasis Highsun
 9 Eleint The Fading
 Harvest Holiday
10 Marpenoth Leaffall
11 Uktar The Rotting
 Festivus Holiday
12 Nightal The Drawing Down

NOTE: Freely based on the Forgotten Realms calendar by Maryrita Steinhour